About Us

The Bristol Virginia Office of Elections and Voter Registration is committed to informing, educating, and encouraging citizens to register and to vote in local, state, and national elections. The Office promotes democracy and public trust to ensure the citizens of Bristol, Virginia, have the freedom to choose leaders and engage in important issues. The office: 

  • administers elections 
  • provides voter registration 
  • conducts community outreach 
  • maintains accurate records
  • certifies election results
Drive-thru office of elections at Bristol Virginia City Hall
Customer visits the drive-thru window at the Office of Elections & Voter Registration, located at Bristol Virginia City Hall

Staff Members

Penny Limburg, Director of Elections & General Registrar

Penny R. Limburg
Director of Elections & General Registrar  

Jeff Miller, Deputy Registrar

Jeff Miller
Deputy Registrar

Andrea Birchfield, Absentee Coordinator

Andrea Birchfield
Absentee Coordinator

Electoral Board Members

The Electoral Board is responsible for appointing the General Registrar. The Electoral Board also appoints Officers of Election to work at polling locations during elections. They represent the two major political parties and they serve three year terms.
Sarah E. Williams, Chairman

Sarah E. Williams, Chairman

Julia Davis, Electoral Board Vice-Chair

Julia Davis, Vice-Chairman

Joyce A. Kistner, Secretary

Joyce Kistner, Secretary


Bristol Virginia Office of Elections and Voter Registration
City Hall, 300 Lee Street, Bristol, VA 24201 • Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am-5:00pm
Visit us inside City Hall or at our drive-thru (located on the Scott Street side of the building)
Phone: 276-645-7318 • Fax: 276-645-7331 • Email: vote@bristolva.org • Facebook • Twitter